Upcoming Meetings

May 17-18, 2017
Garden City, Kansas

August 16-17, 2017
Pittsburg, Kansas

2017 KWA Annual Report to the Governor & Legislature

Button Meeting Materials

KWA Meeting Minutes


2016 Minutes

2015 Minutes

2014 Minutes

Kansas Water Authority

The Kansas Water Office (KWO) and the Kansas Water Authority (KWA) were established in 1981. The KWO is the states policy development and planning agency providing research and staff support to the Governor and the Legislature on water resource issues. The mission of the KWO is to achieve proactive solutions for resource issues of the state and to ensure good quality water to meet the needs of the people and the environment of Kansas. The agency develops and implements the State Water Plan as well as manages and markets water under state control within federal reservoirs. KWO also coordinates water resource activities of agencies and organizations at all levels. The purpose of the Kansas Water Plan is to accomplish coordinated management, conservation and development of the water resources of the state.

The KWA consists of 13 voting members who are appointed by the Governor or Legislative leadership. State agency directors serve as ex-officio members. KWA is statutorily within and a part of the KWO. The KWA is responsible for advising the Governor, Legislature and Director of the Kansas Water Office on water policy issues and for approving the Kansas Water Plan, federal contracts, administration regulations and legislation proposed by the KWO. The KWA provides the leadership to ensure that water policies and programs address the needs of all Kansans. 

On or before December 1 of each year, the KWA submits to the Governor and the Legislature a report setting out: (1) an account of all moneys expended from the state water plan fund during such fiscal year; and (2) a five-year capital development plan for state water plan projects.

KWA Voting Members
Name Representing
Chairman - Gary Harshberger, Dodge City, KS Governor
Ted Nighswonger, Lenora, KS Kansas Association of Conservation Districts
Mike Armstrong, Lenexa, KS Speaker of the House
John Bailey, El Dorado, KS Public
Mark D. Fischer, Wright, KS Public
Greg Graff, Leoti, KS GMD's #1, #3 & #4
Randy Hayzlett, Lakin, KS President of the Senate
Alan King, Wichita, KS League of Municipalities
Calvin Kissick, Wichita, KS GMD's #2 & #5
Brad Loveless, Lyndon, KS Environment/Conservation
Karma Mason, Wichita, KS Kansas Association of Commerce & Industry
Dennis F. Schwartz, Topeka, KS Kansas Rural Water Association
Lynn Wobker, Osawatomie, KS State Association of Kansas Watersheds